Call For A Consultation: 913-721-6067
Colgan Law Firm LLC
Serving Wyandotte, Leavenworth, Johnson Counties in Kansas and Beyond

Drunk driving Archives

Potential penalties for a drunk driving conviction

Those who are found driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol on a Kansas road may face many different penalties, ranging from a fine to time in jail. It is also possible that a driver who is convicted of impaired driving will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on his or her vehicle. Such a device won't allow a car to start if it a driver has a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher.

The keto diet could render false positive breath test for DUI

Residents of Kansas who are on the popular keto diet for health and weight loss might want to hear about a curious drunk driving case that happened earlier this year. The Houston-area attorney for a man who was charged with DUI got the charges dropped after discovering that his client was on the keto diet. The attorney claims that a positive breath test was reading alcohol on the man's breath that was not there because he had been drinking, but because he was in ketosis.

Kansas man sentenced for fatal DUI crash

A 24-year-old man was sentenced to nine years and one month in prison on April 5 for causing an August 2017 crash that claimed the life of his passenger. In February, a Sedgwick County jury found the man guilty of involuntary manslaughter while impaired by drugs, aggravated battery, driving with a suspended driver's license and failing to yield at a stop sign. However, the man was not immediately transported to prison and is instead being held at the Sedgwick County Jail. This is because there is another criminal case pending against him.

Nystagmus test gives controversial sobriety results

A nystagmus test is a common sobriety test that is used in the field to determine if an individual is under the influence of alcohol. The test is formally referred to as the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus test. The term "nystagmus" is an involuntary movement of the eye, such as a jerking or jiggling motion.

Kansas teen accused of DUI after driving recklessly

Following a hit-and-run collision on Jan. 12, a Kansas teen was accused by police of driving under the influence. The teen's pickup truck was heading north on a street in Cowley County when it struck a parked pickup truck on the same stretch of roadway. After the accident, the 17-year-old driver was taken into custody.

Drug use increasingly evident among drivers who die in crashes

The laws in Kansas against drunk driving have been clear for years, but drug-impaired driving is more difficult to detect than alcohol. Research assembled by the National Transportation Safety Board has revealed a substantial increase in drug use among drivers who died in crashes. In 2006, toxicology testing of deceased drivers measured the presence of drugs, such as prescription drugs, marijuana or opiates, in 30 percent of victims. By 2015, the number of deceased drivers testing positive for drugs had gone up to 46 percent.

The various theories behind drunk driving laws

In Kansas, the legal blood alcohol limit is .08 percent. However, various groups are of the opinion that this limit should be reduced. In fact, the legal limit in Utah will be .05 percent starting at the end of December. The National Traffic Safety Board also agrees that drivers should not operate motor vehicles with a blood alcohol content of more .05 percent. Research from the Texas Medical Center Health Policy Institute found that most Americans were in favor of such a reduction.

States urged to toughen drunk driving laws

A growing number of car accidents in Kansas and across the country is prompting demands to lower the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit once again. Deaths related to drunk driving have dropped significantly over the past decades, but a significant percentage of fatal accidents continue to be attributed to the influence of alcohol, exceeding those caused by distracted driving or drugged driving. According to one study, almost 40 percent of those killed in drunk driving accidents were not drunk themselves.

Drink driving laws in Kansas

Most drivers in Kansas are considered intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher, but stricter rules apply to commercial vehicle drivers and those under the legal drinking age of 21. The penalties for operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol can be severe for motorists who cause serious accidents or have a history of drunk driving, and people who operate a vehicle while intoxicated with passengers under the age of 14 also face more severe penalties in Kansas.

Schedule A Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Review Us